Posted by: swuharrison | July 25, 2011

Resonse to NETS-T Standard 4

Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility

            Teachers understand local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in their professional practices. Teachers:

a.     Advocate, model, and teach safe, legal, and ethical use of digital information and technology, including respect for copyright, intellectual property, and the appropriate documentation of sources.

b.     Address the diverse needs of all learners by using learner-centered strategies providing equitable access to appropriate digital tools and resources.

c.      Promote and model digital etiquette and responsible social interactions to the use of technology and information.

d.     Develop and model cultural understanding and global awareness by engaging with colleagues and students of other cultures using digital-age communication and collaboration tools.

Summary:  Teachers should model and teach the responsibilities of digital culture. This should include the legal laws, safety, and ethical behavior. Teachers should model cultural understanding by getting involved with colleagues and students of other cultures using digital resources. Have learning centers for diverse needs that provides access to digital tools and resources.

Strengths: I do not have much strength in this area.  If I share information with a colleague I will share where I found that information. I do not use information or pictures off the web that has a copyright attached.

Weaknesses: I do not model digital behavior for my students.  I have never used the computer with my preschool students, mostly because I do not have the resources. I have never corresponded with a colleague from other places, I have never even thought of that before. I do not have learning centers where there is access to digital tools.

Leave a Reply

Categories

