Posted by: swuharrison | July 24, 2011

Unseen Nobility

Title of Article: Hey – I’m not messing up – I’m learning!

Author: Vicki Davis

Link: http://coolcatteacher.blogspot.com/2011/01/hey-im-not-messing-up-im-learning.html

Summary:  Vicki Davis reminds us that it is okay to make mistakes.  When we make a mistake we should not get upset or angry with ourselves, instead we should think about what we can learn from it.

She also states that teachers are noble.  Teachers spend their time in a worthy cause. We should set a good example and be admirable. We can improve our classrooms and move ahead. “We can’t do everything but we can do something.”

Interesting Concept: The idea of teachers being noble.  I would never have seen myself as a noble person.  I always do my best to set a good Christian example for my students, coworkers, and parent of my students, but I never saw that as being noble.

When a mistake is made, asking the question, “Now, what have we learned?” I usually do not take the time to think about what I could learn from my mistakes.

My Response to the article: This encouraged me about my position as a teacher. It encouraged me that I can change or improve things.  It may not change overnight but it can change within a period of time. It also reinforced the concept that it is okay to make mistakes.  I agree with Vicki Davis in that we should act noble and set forth a good example.

Leave a Reply

Categories

