Posted by: swuharrison | July 15, 2011

Response to NETS-T Standard 3

Standard 3: Model Digital-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society. Teachers:

  1. demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.
  2. collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation.
  3. communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats.
  4. model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

  Summary:

  • Teachers need to have professional knowledge about technology
  • Teachers should show their digital knowledge in a professional manner
  • Know how to use technology systems well and adapt to the changing systems
  • Use digital tools and resources to communicate with parents, students, and peers
  • Use digital resources to find information in order to support learning
  • Model how to find and use digital information resources

Strengths: I use the internet to find resources and ideas for my lessons. I do have some familiarity with computer systems and searching for things on the computer. I communicate with my parents and peers through email and some peers through Facebook. I try to be professional in my newsletters, emails, and lesson plans that are done on the computer. This coming school year we are adding a new system to our school that will allow me to communicate with parents in new way.

Weaknesses: I do not know much about the kinds of technology available to me. I am nervous about using a new system, and because of this I usually do not try new things pertaining to technology. I do not collaborate with others except through email. I am looking forward to, and a little nervous, about trying a new system when the school year starts back.  I wish I felt more comfortable with technology and digital tools.  I do not use many digital tools in my classroom because I thought there was little available to me as a preschool teacher. Through this class I have learned there are more available than I realized.

Leave a Reply

Categories

